Fort McCoy News May 13, 2016

Banquet recognizes post volunteer contributions

Fort McCoy held its Garrison Commander's Volunteer Recognition Banquet April 14.

The volunteers, along with the Fort McCoy Army Community Service (ACS) Army Volunteer Corps Coordinator Lorie Retzlaff, presented Garrison Commander Col. David J. Pinter Sr. with a symbolic check for $295,057, which represented the hours volunteers donated from January through December 2015.

The amount represented the approximate cost avoidance achieved by Fort McCoy volunteers' efforts in 2015. Ninety-four volunteers were recognized for donating a combined 11,965 hours of service. The dollar value of volunteer work was based on an estimated $24.66 an hour wage at the national level.

Garrison Commander Col. David J. Pinter Sr. was presented with a symbolic check for $295,057, which represented the hours volunteers donated from January through December 2015.
Garrison Commander Col. David J. Pinter Sr. was presented with a
symbolic check for $295,057, which represented the hours volunteers
donated from January through December 2015.
Contributed photo

ACS Director Kevin J. Herman began the event with opening remarks, and attendees enjoyed a buffet dinner. The meal was followed by a training session delivered by Jimmy Page, co-author of "One Word that Will Change Your Life" and motivational speaker with The Jon Gordon Companies. Page spoke about the importance of remaining positive every day and how doing so can translate into a positive, meaningful life.

Pinter presented volunteers with the Garrison Commander Certificate of Appreciation for their dedication and commitment to volunteerism in support of Fort McCoy's mission as a member of the Army Volunteer Corps from January through December 2015.

Receiving Certificates of Appreciation were:

• Debb Aiken, Amy Anderson, and Yevheniy Andreyko.

• Amber Bailey, Keven Beattie, Enrique Becwar, Norb Brown, Sarah Brueggen, and Rita Byers.

• Richard Coffin.

• Barb Dahlby, Courtney Daniels-Burke, Sheri Ann Dickinson, and Francis Downs.

• Shawn Eckelberg, Randall Eddy, Eric Epstein, Marykristy Eweama, Regina Eweama, and Remy Eweama.

• Codi Farmer, Marcus Frazee, and Gary Frei.

• Jordon Griffing.

• Shirley Harmel, Renee Herman, Dave Hirsch, Mary Hirsch-Justice, Erika Lord Hodges, John Hodges, and Rosalie Hodges.

• Susan James, Rawan Jenkins, Laurence Johns, and Victoria Justice.

• Audrey Kambui, Savannah Klingler, Amber Koch, Kevin Koch, Naomi Koch, Nathan Koch, and Stephanie Koch.

• Joe Larson.

• Ann Mais, Aimee Malone, Cathy Malzacher, and Karylen Murphy.

• Nevin Neuville, Charlotte Nott, Elissa Nott, Ethan Nott, and Steven Nott.

• Ben Olson, Deborah Olson, and Haley Olson.

• Dean Peloquin, Nicole Pelowski, Lawrence Peterson, Otto Peterson, John Polk, and Jessica Prindiville.

• Maria Reiland, Brandon Retzlaff, Daniel Retzlaff, Megan Retzlaff, Barbara Rice, Michael Roeske, Alonna Rogalla, Keira Rogalla, Terrence Rogalla, and Theresa Rogalla.

• Russell Sanborn, Becky Sawyer, Lauren Sawyer, Thomas Sawyer, Yvonne Scholle, Jarred Schouten, Theresa Simpson, Judith Snively, Michael Snively, and Jackie Soden.

• Carol Tester, Debra Thompson, and Harold Topel.

• Susan Vos.

• Sherrie Waldera, Keyodona Walton, Ann Wermer, Mytchell Wollin, Faith Woodman, Tara Woodman, Tracy Woodman, and Wayne Woodman.

• Bradley Zimmerman.

Seventeen volunteers also received Presidential Volunteer Service Awards. The President's Council on Service and Civic Participation created the President's Volunteer Service Award Program as a way to thank and honor Americans who, by their demonstrated commitment and example, inspire others to engage in volunteer service. Recognizing and honoring volunteers sets a standard for service to others. It encourages a sustained commitment to civic participation and inspires others to make volunteering a central part of their lives.

The volunteers receiving Presidential Volunteer Service Awards were:

• Lifetime (4,000 hours over their lifetime) — Russell Sanborn.

• Gold (500-plus hours in 2015) — Francis Downs, Otto Peterson, Russell Sanborn, Judith Snively, Michael Snively, and Carol Tester.

• Silver (250-499 hours in 2015) — Barb Dahlby and Mary Hirsch-Justice.

• Bronze (100-249 hours in 2015) — Amber Bailey, Norb Brown, Dave Hirsch, Ann Mais, Lawrence Peterson, Debra Thompson, and Bradley Zimmerman.

• Young Adult Gold (250-plus hours in 2015) — Elissa Nott.

Fort McCoy community members looking for opportunities to positively affect the garrison's military community can do so by volunteering, which contributes in ways that have lasting effects on the community's Soldiers, Families, and volunteers. Contact ACS about the volunteer program at 608-388-6507 or visit the website to view volunteer opportunities.

   (Article prepared by Army Community Service.)