Fort McCoy News May 22, 2015

Fort McCoy recognizes volunteers' contributions

Fort McCoy volunteers were recognized at the Garrison Commander's Volunteer Recognition Banquet held April 23 at the installation.

The volunteers, along with Fort McCoy Army Community Service (ACS) Army Volunteer Corps Coordinator Lorie Retzlaff and ACS Director Becky Wapp Sawyer, presented Garrison Commander Col. Steven W. Nott with a symbolic $219,373 check.

Fort McCoy volunteers were recognized for their contributions at an April 17 banquet that featured dinner, a special training session, and presentation of certificates. Photo by Lorie Retzlaff.

The amount represented the approximate cost of the hours that volunteers donated from January through December 2014.
Eighty-six volunteers were recognized for donating a total of 9,509 hours of service. The dollar value of volunteer work was based on an estimated $23.07 per hour wage.

Attendees enjoyed a sit-down dinner with opening remarks by Patric D. McGuane, director of Family, Morale, Welfare and Recreation. The meal was followed by an entertaining and educational training session delivered by Bryan Flanagan.

Flanagan spoke on the importance of looking for the good in yourself and others. Elissa Nott, a Fort McCoy volunteer, closed the evening by speaking about what it means to volunteer.

Col. Nott presented volunteers with Garrison Commander Certificates of Appreciation for their dedication and commitment to volunteerism in support of Fort McCoy's mission as members of the Army Volunteer Corps in 2014.

Receiving Certificates of Appreciation were:

Amy Anderson, Yevheniy Andreyko, Kyle Andreska,

Amber Bailey, Enrique Becwar, James Boegler, Barbara Boulden, Norb Brown, Sarah Brueggen, Rita Byers,

LeAnn Clark, Ranse Clark, Richard Coffin, Aaron Craig,

Courtney Daniels-Burke, Eve Day, Sheri Ann Dickinson, Francis Downs,

Shawn Eckelberg, Randall Eddy, Marykristy Eweama, Remy Eweama,

Codi Farmer, Wyatt Folgers, Marcus Frazee, Gary Frei,

Edwin Hanson Jr., Shirley Harmel, Rodney Harris, Dave Hirsch, Mary Hirsch-Justice, Erika Lord Hodges,

Susan James, Rawan Jenkins, Laurence Johns, Tory Justice,

Carol Kaus, Amber Koch, Naomi Koch, Nathan Koch,

Michael Larsen, Suzanne Larsen, Mary Lemburg,

Ann Mais, Cathy Malzacher, Roger Marier, Randall Miller, Karylen Murphy,

Ronald Nedland, Nevin Neuville, Bethany Nott, Charlotte Nott, Elissa Nott, Ethan Nott, Steven Nott, Rachel Nuetzel,

Dean Peloquin, Lawrence Peterson, Otto Peterson, John Polk,

Maria Reiland, Daniel Retzlaff, Lorie Retzlaff, Megan Retzlaff, Barbara Rice, Mike Roeske, Bridget Rogalla, Mckenzi Rogalla, Nolan Rogalla, Terrence Rogalla,

Russell Sanborn, Nicole Sawyer, Thomas Sawyer, Kurt Schultz, Susan Shie, Theresa Simpson,

Ashlie Toczynski, Connor Todd,

Daniel vonArx, Jonathan vonArx, Lauren vonArx,

Sherrie Waldera, Keydona Walton, Gordon Weber, Ann Wermer,

and Bradley Zimmerman.

Twenty-one volunteers also received Presidential Volunteer Service Awards.

The President's Council on Service and Civic Participation created the President's Volunteer Service Award Program as a way to thank and honor Americans who, by their demonstrated commitment and example, inspire others to engage in volunteer service.

Recognizing and honoring volunteers sets a standard for service to others. It encourages a sustained commitment to civic participation and inspires others to make volunteering a central part of their lives.

The following volunteers received Presidential Volunteer Service Awards:

• Roger Marier, Ronald Nedland, and Otto Peterson received Lifetime awards for volunteering more than 4,000 hours during their lifetimes.

• Francis Downs, Roger Marier, Ronald Nedland, Otto Peterson, and Russell Sanborn received Gold awards for volunteering more than 500 hours in 2014.

• Mary Hirsch-Justice and Bradley Zimmerman received Silver awards for volunteering between 250 and 499 hours in 2014.

• Norb Brown, Richard Coffin, Sheri Ann Dickinson, Marcus Frazee, Gary Frei, Dave Hirsch, Laurence Johns, Ann Mais, Lawrence Peterson, and Michael Roeske received Bronze awards for volunteering between 100 and 249 hours in 2014.

• Megan Retzlaff received a Teen Silver award for volunteering between 75 and 99 hours in 2014.

Fort McCoy community members looking for opportunities to positively affect the garrison's military community can do so by volunteering, which contributes in ways that have lasting effects on the community's Soldiers, Families, and volunteers. Anyone associated with the Army community — Soldiers, Family members, government civilian employees, retirees and others — can participate in the Army Volunteer Corps.

For more information about the volunteer program, contact ACS at 608-388-6507, or visit the website to view volunteer opportunities.

   (Article prepared by Army Community Service.)