History Center Archives
From camp to fort ...
Camp McCoy became
Fort McCoy Sept. 30, 1974, in recognition of the installation
becoming a year-round training support center. The designation
underscored the vital and enduring nature of the installation’s
role in the nation’s military readiness. Fort McCoy is observing
“A Century of Service to America” during 2009.
On this date ...
Sept. 1905: Maj. Samuel
Allen, commander of the 7th Field Artillery, Fort Snelling,
Minn., admired the terrain of the Sparta area for its
training value. Robert B. McCoy invited Allen’s unit, along
with an Army board of reviewing officers, to put the land to
the test during 16 days of training on his family’s ranch.
Sept. 25, 1950: Skeleton organizations for 25 Army
units were set up. If filled to strength, 20,000 men would
have permanent assignments. It was later reported that 15
additional units would be assigned.
Sept. 14, 1951: September marked the first
anniversary of the reactivation of Camp McCoy. Coming to
McCoy for regular training throughout the first year of
reactivation were many non-divisional combat units. In the
summer, the camp’s training program stretched to include
thousands of men in the Reserve Organized Training Corps,
and Organized Reserve Corps and National Guard units.
Nine women joined the Women’s Army Corps detachment at Camp
McCoy after completing medical school at Fort Sam Houston,
Sept. 30, 1985: For the first time more than 100,000
Soldiers completed training on post.