[ The Real McCoy Online Home ]
From Our History Files ...

Throughout 2009, Fort McCoy will celebrate a Century of Service to America. Each issue of The Real McCoy Online will feature a historical photo and tidbits of history from our past.

Photo: Soldiers train at the stone quarry at Camp McCoy July 30, 1952. This unique method of training served a dual purpose — the training of military personnel and the improvement of post roads and grounds. Fort McCoy is celebrating a "Century of Service" throughout 2009. (Photo from History Center Archives)
History Center Archives

Quarry work ...

Soldiers train at the stone quarry at Camp McCoy July 30, 1952. This unique method of training served a dual purpose — the training of military personnel and the improvement of post roads and grounds. Fort McCoy is celebrating a "Century of Service" throughout 2009.

On this date ...

July 13, 1914: The Fourth Regiment Band, South Dakota, National Guard treated the locals to a concert that the Monroe County Democrat described as "one of the finest that all present would remember for many a day." The concert was held in front of the Hotel Lewis.

July 7, 1915: Sparta Postmaster Rice spent the day at Camp Robinson assisting the postmaster there. It was payday at the camp and many of the boys were sending their money home.

July 3, 1943: Big Camp McCoy Soldier Show began gathering talent. 48 Camp Women’s Auxiliary Army Corps (WAAC) receive promotions. In an exclusive story "the Real McCoy" revealed the WAACs had been made a part of the Army.

July 1, 1944: Allied battle victories sent McCoy Bond sales over $115,000.

July 8, 1944: McCoy teams stole show in state baseball tourney. 76th beat the post for title. Bond sales totaled $311,412.

July 1, 1952: Field training under combat-experienced instructors from Korea faced the Army Organized Reserve units that took part in summer duty at Camp McCoy. Korean veterans who acted as instructors brought the battlefield experience to the members of the reserve units training at Camp McCoy.

July 1, 1956: Sparta postmaster announces that civilians would carry the mail to Camp McCoy. In previous years, the Army brought the mail to and from camp. The Public Affairs Office gave no explanation why the Army was dropping the service.

July 1, 1963: Camp McCoy was given a new five-digit ZIP code (54656) that went into effect.

July 1, 1973: Camp McCoy became an installation under the newly formed U.S. Army Forces Command (FORSCOM).

July 2, 1980: Cuban Refugee Operations support financial obligations totaled $18.9 million. 

[ Top of Page ]

[ The Real McCoy Online Home ]