[ The Real McCoy Online Home ]                     

May 11, 2012


April banquet recognizes service of

Fort McCoy volunteers

Fort McCoy volunteers were recognized at the Garrison Commander’s Volunteer Recognition Banquet, held April 12 at the installation.

The volunteers, along with the Fort McCoy Army Volunteer Corps Coordinator Lorie Retzlaff and Army Community Service Director Becky Wapp Sawyer, presented Garrison Commander Col. Steven W. Nott and Garrison Deputy Commander Col. Rob Humphrey with a symbolic $218,840 check for hours donated from January-December 2011.
PHOTO: Fort McCoy volunteers display their Garrison Commander Certificates of Appreciation. Photo by Army Community Service
Fort McCoy volunteers display their Garrison Commander Certificates of Appreciation as they pose with Garrison Commander Col. Steven W. Nott at the Volunteer Banquet. (Photo by Army Community Service)

The amount represented the approximate amount volunteers saved Fort McCoy in 2011. Eighty-four volunteers were recognized for donating 9,774 hours of service. The dollar value of volunteer work was based on an estimated $22.39 an hour wage at the national level.

Attendees enjoyed a “sit-down” dinner. A training presentation by Kristy Walz entitled “The Trinity: Optimism, Resilience & Gratitude” concluded the evening. She spoke about the importance of optimism, resilience and gratitude in people’s lives and gave attendees ideas and tools they could immediately apply to their lives to slow down, stress less, and have fun.

Nott presented volunteers in the Fort McCoy community with the Garrison Commander Certificate of Appreciation for dedication in supporting the mission of Fort McCoy and commitment to volunteerism as a member of the Army Volunteer Corps from January-December 2011.

The following individuals received a Certificate of Appreciation:
Nate Allen, Amy Anderson,
Craig Bartholomew, Laurie Bartholomew, Norb Brown, Veronica Brown, Sarah Brueggen,
Kaleen Caulkins, Ranse Clark, Tangerine Cobb, Richard Coffin, Duane Countryman, Aaron Craig, Wilton Cruz,
Courtney Daniels, Nancy Davis-Ortiz, Sheri Dickinson, Francis Downs, Abby Duebler, Jeff Duebler,
Shawn Eckelberg, Randall Eddy, Kenneth Enghusen,
Hans Fester, Scott Fransen, Marcus Frazee, Rachel Fries, Jing Fu, Eric Funkhouser, Susan Harrington, Renee Herman, Don Herr, David Hirsch, Mary Hirsch-Justice, Wesley Howard, Rhonda Humphrey,
Gary Johansen, Laurence Johns,
Ashley Kast, Karen Kast, Carol Kaus, James Keim,
James Laatsch, Sarah Lawry, Kimberly Lodewick,
Michael Manecke, Roger Marier, Rochelle Massengale, Daniel Meyer, Shari Meyer, Donald Miller,
Kathleen Needham,
Lynne Ostricki-Schley,
Francis Paronish, Laura Pettersen, Ora Lee Phelan, Danielle Pilkin,
Laura Rakow, Andrell Reid, Maria Reiland, Brandon Retzlaf, Daniel Retzlaff, Megan Retzlaff, Kamonrat Richardson, Wade Riniker, Michael Roeske, Sean Romana,
Nicole Sawyer, Thomas Sawyer, Anne Schofield, Maryann Sliva, Victoria Sliva,
Larry Thompson, John Timm,
Melekalama Valdez, Anthony Vandergrinten,
Carol Wagner, Sherrie Waldera, Matthew Walters, Angela Woodman, Faith Woodman, Tara Woodman, Tracy Woodman, and Wayne Woodman.

Eighteen volunteers also were honored with a Presidential Volunteer Service Award. The President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation created the President’s Volunteer Service Award Program as a way to thank and honor Americans who, by their demonstrated commitment and example, inspire others to engage in volunteer service.

Recognizing and honoring volunteers sets a standard for service to others. It encourages a sustained commitment to civic participation and inspires others to make volunteering a central part of their lives.

The volunteers receiving Presidential Volunteer Service Awards were:
Gold (500+ hours in 2011) — Francis Downs, Automotive Skills Center; and Roger Marier, Pine View Campground.
Gold-Young Adult (250+ hours in 2011) — Sarah Brueggen, Army Community Service.
Silver (250-499 hours in 2011) — Duane Countryman, Woodcraft Shop; Wilton Cruz, Woodcraft Shop; Mary Hirsch-Justice, Direcorate of Family and Morale, Welfare and Recreation (DFMWR) Ski Patrol; and Anthony Vandergrinten, Woodcraft Shop.
Bronze (100-249 hours in 2011) — Norb Brown, DFMWR Ski Patrol; Richard Coffin, Legal-Volunteer Income Tax Assistance program (VITA) program; Hans Fester, Woodcraft Shop; Eric Funkhouser, DFMWR Ski Patrol; Dave Hirsch, DFMWR Ski Patrol; James Laatsch, Woodcraft Shop; Donald Miller, Woodcraft Shop; Francis Paronish, Woodcraft Shop; Anne Schofield, Legal-VITA program; and John Timm, Woodcraft Shop.
Bronze-Young Adult (100-174 hours in 2011) — Sean Romana, Army Community Service.

Anyone in the Fort McCoy community who is looking for an opportunity to positively impact the installation’s military community can do so by volunteering, which contributes in ways that have a lasting effect on the community’s Soldiers, Families and the volunteers.

For more information, contact Army Community Service about the volunteer program at 608-388-3505 or visit the website http://www.myarmyonesource.com to view volunteer opportunities.

(Submitted by Army Community Service.)

[ Top of Page ]

[ The Real McCoy Online Home ]